No More Election=A Lot More Knitting

This is what I do with my time when I don’t have a campaign to work on.

2014-11-09 00.55.47 2014-11-09 00.56.06
Baby sweater for a friend’s son; still needs ends sewn in and buttons added, but I think it’s pretty damn cute.  Fingering weight scrap yarn–I believe the darkest and lightest blues are two different colorways of Araucania Ranco, and I have no idea what the medium blue yarn is.

2014-11-09 00.58.04 2014-11-09 00.57.34
This sock more or less speaks for itself.  The blue is tosh merino light; white is Valley Yarns Huntington (I think).

2014-11-18 03.05.06 2014-11-18 03.04.55
Groovy sock.  Some self-striping yarn that has long since lost its label.  I think it might be Lion Brand Sock Ease, but don’t quote me on that.

2014-11-15 21.52.162014-11-17 22.18.14
Current WIP: a modified Clapotis.  The pattern’s written for worsted-weight yarn, but I’m using a lace-weight that often behaves more like a fingering-weight, breaks WAY too often, and is a pain in the butt to unravel dropped stitches.  (Seriously, I have to ladder each stitch down row by row with a needle.  Huge pain in the ass, but there’s something oddly satisfying about unraveling something on purpose.  Something there is that doesn’t love a wall.)  The dropped stitches will look a lot less messy once it’s finished and blocked.  Yarn is Noro Taiyo Lace.

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “No More Election=A Lot More Knitting

  1. Bourbon

    If one sock says fuck, does the other say off!

    • I almost always just knit single socks, but that’s a fun idea. 🙂

      • Now I’m confused. What, if you don’t mind me asking, do you do with just one sock?? You really do need an ‘off’ sock to go with the splendid ‘fuck’. Or possibly an ‘oh’, to go before the ‘fuck’.

      • I am working on a sock that says “damn” on the toes, but if i had enough of the blue yarn, i would make an “off” sock to match.

        To answer the first question, I usually wear mismatched pairs.

  2. There is nothing about this knitting that *isn’t* groovy. Right down to the single artisanal socks and the Frost reference.

  3. Laura

    I was inspired to teach myself to knit socks after reading one of your much earlier posts about the subject. I’m too obsessive to not make nice matching pairs though!

    • I’m too easily bored to knit matching pairs. 🙂

      But sock knitting is awesome! It gets a bad rap for being hard, which I don’t get. I mean, turning the heel requires concentration and counting, but it’s not actually difficult.

  4. Wow! You are awesome at knitting!!
    I can only knit scarves. And I have no excuse because I’ve known how to do it for some years. I just don’t follow directions well… I really love all of these pictures. Your friend is going to love what you made 🙂 You are like an artist with needles!

  5. happilydpressed

    I absolutely love the socks! And the sweater is adorable

  6. Have nothing but admiration for the socks…They make my fingers itch to knit again! Ooh, I so want a sock that says FUCK! And another in a different color and pattern that says, umm, well, I’ll leave it to your imagination! Thanks for the laugh, though. BW, Pam

  7. Dounia

    Such a cutie little vest for the kid!! ^^

Leave a Reply

