On Anger and Helplessness

When I talk about my anger, I feel like people see me as someone who goes off on people, physically or verbally.  I don’t do that–mine is all directed internally.  I want to scream at people and pick fights, but I don’t.  It all just turns in on myself and makes me feel worthless and hopeless and suicidal.  If I had a foolproof way of ending it, I would.  But I don’t want to risk screwing it up and being “saved,” only to be abandoned again as soon as they decide I’m “okay.”

I don’t want to get rid of all the anger, either.  It’s the only thing that’s kept me alive this long–it’s a way of marking that a lot of terrible things happened to me, but the fact that they happened doesn’t mean they’re okay or I deserved it.  For a long, long time, I thought I never felt anger.  Nothing beyond mild frustration on occasion.  But I was slowly killing myself with my self-harm and eating disorder, and if that’s not the personification of rage turned inward, I don’t know what is.  I really believe that finally being able to get angry at the people and events that had driven me to believe I needed to annihilate myself was what saved me.  I could finally see that what they’d done to me wasn’t okay, and I could turn around and say, “No, it’s you I’m angry at, not myself.”  I could choose to stop destroying myself because I finally understood.

But now it’s different.  Now it’s not me destroying myself, and I can’t choose to change what’s happening to me.  The decisions and circumstances are, for the most part, out of my hands.  So I can recognize that it’s unfair and wrong, I can see that I don’t deserve to have my needs go unmet…but I can’t change it.  So all I’m left with is rage and the familiar desire to destroy myself.  Only this time I don’t want to do it piecemeal; I just want to get it over with and be done.  I just can’t live like this.  No one can really live like this.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “On Anger and Helplessness

  1. I just want to say that I hit the like button because this post resonates with me. If I could control my anger, I would destroy myself with it. I am saddened that you’re sharing similar thoughts that I have. But I’m not quite sure if not being alone in this is a good thing.

  2. Thank you for the powerful post! “I really believe that finally being able to get angry at the people and events that had driven me to believe I needed to annihilate myself was what saved me.” That statement really hit home, as it was one of the truths opened up a healthy life for me. First there were some disappointed and ironically, angry responses from others, but in time, now there is respect. Right anger and right actions are freeing! You’re a freedom fighter. 🙂

  3. This resonates with me! That is why I hit like! It is good that you can now get angry at the people who deserve the anger. XX

Leave a Reply

