Today I got to go to a meet and greet with Elizabeth Warren, Martha Coakley (gov candidate), and Maura Healey (AG candidate).  It was pretty great.  I’ve heard Senator Warren speak before, of course, but never so up close and personal.  I even got to shake her hand.  I wanted to get a picture with her, but there wasn’t a chance because I had to run around and do campaign stuff.

One of the guys they brought in from Boston was freaking out about the event this morning.  We weren’t allowed to push it until this afternoon–the campaign was suspended for a little while following Mayor Menino’s death, and there was a big rally in another city fairly close that we didn’t want to take people away from.  So we couldn’t push people toward our event until 6 hours before it started, and he was afraid nobody would show up.  But this is a very liberal/progressive town, and Elizabeth’s status is like unto God’s.  Say her name around here, and 200 people will show up easy.  Which is what we told him, and that’s exactly what happened.

Two old friends of mine from the Obama campaign were at the event, and I got to hang out with them while my bosses were drinking.  A reporter from the local paper overheard me talking about how I loved Maura because the first event of hers I went to was a house party around disability issues, and she managed to talk about people with disabilities without making me want to throw things, which is exceedingly rare.  Apparently the reporter thought that was a good story and asked if she could interview me.  So maybe I’ll be in the paper, talking about disability stuff, which would be cool.  It did get a little awkward because she asked about my specific disability.  I just said that I have a severe autoimmune disorder that affects multiple systems and sometimes causes mobility impairment.  I put in a plug for invisible illnesses too: “I don’t always need the cane, so my disability is often invisible, which makes it hard to access disability services.”

Then I also got interviewed by the campaign’s videographer.  They’re putting together a video about why it’s important for people to get out and vote, so I talked about that, why I support Martha, and what I’ll be doing on election day.  That’ll probably just go out on the campaign website, Facebook, and maybe Twitter.

After the event, we still had to go back to the office and enter data because the HQ staff are insisting it has to be entered by midnight every night.  That sounds like it’s not that hard, but we knocked around 700 doors today, and each of those results has to be entered.  I was running the whole office for most of the day today, so I got way behind on data.  Every time I’d sit down to enter data, another volunteer would come in or someone would call with a question or I’d have to cut new turf or phone lists.  I barely had time to use the bathroom, let alone enter stacks of data.

Then a field organizer from another part of our region wanted me to enter his data too.  While I was at our meet and greet.  He said, “Well, if I email to to you, can you do it after the event?”  I wanted to be like, “Bitch plz.  I cannot do everything for this region all by myself.”  Instead, I just said, “Not tonight, I’m way behind on my data.  Sorry.”  I’m kind of proud of myself for being able to set a boundary, even though it’s a small one.  It’s really hard for me because I feel like if I refuse to do anything anyone asks of me, I don’t deserve to exist and should just kill myself.  But the regional field director has just been telling all the staff in our area, “If you can’t get to something, just delegate it to Kyra.”  I mean, I appreciate the trust and all, but I’m only one person who can only handle so much.  I could never get the hang of juggling in elementary school PE class.

Best part of the day, after the event, when we were entering data, one of my bosses got a packet from a new volunteer.  She left us detailed notes about basically everything people said to her, which is unnecessary and annoying to data people.

HIM: “God, I fucking hate volunteers.”
ME: “Hi, I’m Kyra, and I’m a volunteer.”
HIM: “Not you.  You’re, like, a staff volunteer.”

That’s basically true.  I work almost as many hours, and I have the same level of Votebuilder access as the field organizers.  Regular volunteers just assume I’m staff, and Martha knows my name.  But it’s kind of nice to know they think of me that way because I constantly feel inferior to them.  I mean, of my three bosses, one works for Elizabeth Warren, one works for a state senator, and the third is on his tenth political campaign.  Next to them, I feel stupid and inexperienced.  Maybe they don’t see me that way, though.  I hope.

Okay.  Time for a long, hot bath, where I’ll reread Game of Thrones, and then bed.  I get to do this all over again tomorrow.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “

  1. It sounds like you are really in your element. Enjoy, enjoy! 🙂

  2. (((hugz))) I’m really proud of you!! I’m glad you did the interview. I know it’s a long shot, but hopefully some tangible help will come from it.

    • Well, what I said was more about the AG candidate than about me. The article is live now on the website, just a couple paragraphs and a quote from me. I didn’t really talk about my struggles–I was talking about how impressed I was at the way she related to people with disabilities.

  3. go you. proud of you for being able to set a boundary. that’s not easy when your placed on the spot like that. so glad you were able to take care of number one, you. hope your bath was good. did you finish game of thrones in one night? hope you slept good too. xoxo

  4. YAY for setting a boundary!! May many more come! I’d even talk to the guy who’s been telling people to delegate stuff to you that you already have so much on your plate and that you don’t want the plates to start to spin into the air! Or something like that. Basically, that you appreciate his trust but that you’re way overbooked as it is.

    I think your bosses appreciate and love your youthful energy and enthusiasm, which more than makes up for any experience that you’ll get along the way!

    YAY for being interviewed and for having what looks like an all-round lovely (though full!) day!

  5. I so love seeing this side of you. You are so good at your job and your passion for it shines through in your words. I’m glad you were well enough to do this…try to rest your body when you can so you don’t burn out. Xoxoxo

  6. Others have already said it but I an so happy that you got a little recognition and that you were able to say no when asked to do more than you could juggle. You are so needed. I still have hopes that you might get offered paid work because you are dedicated and smart.

Leave a Reply

