Full of Shit

So I spent most of today in the ER.

If you recall, I’ve been on a course of Augmentin to treat The Sinus Infection That Would Not Die.  Generally, if people have GI side effects from it, what they get is diarrhea.  Given that I have ulcerative colitis, you’d think I’d be more prone to getting that particular side effect.

But you would be wrong.  Instead of pooping more, I stopped pooping altogether.  I went from six to eight bowel movements a day to no bowel movements for seven days (and counting).  When it was just constipation, I thought I could wait it out for the rest of the 12-day course.  Being constipated was actually a relief after a year and a half of excessive diarrhea.  But then the pain started, and it got progressively worse.  This morning, it got beyond what I could manage.  The combination of not pooping and worsening pain also made me worry about a bowel obstruction.

So I called C early this morning, and she dropped me off at the ER.  I was not very enthusiastic about going because my last several visits there were not helpful, but it’s the only hospital around.  The pain was bad enough that I didn’t think I could wait.

Luckily, this time was a good experience.  Good nurse, good doc, even a really sweet X-ray technician.  The doctor ordered Zofran and morphine without even making me ask, and there were no lectures on how I shouldn’t use the ER for pain management.  No one called me drug-seeking or implied that my problems were psychological.  It baffles me that I can have such different experiences at the same ER a few months apart.  It’s really hit or miss with this hospital.

Luckily, it turns out I don’t have a bowel obstruction.  I’m just literally full of shit, which is not my usual problem.  But I have magnesium citrate and Colace, and hopefully those will solve this problem.

But I guess I now have to list Augmentin as another drug allergy.  (No, I know it’s not technically an allergy; the only medications I know I’m truly allergic to are NSAID’s.  But I use the “drug allergies” list as a “don’t give me these meds or I’ll end up in the ER” list, so Augmentin apparently belongs there.)

I’m exhausted, so I’m going to try to sleep.  And hopefully I’ll be able to poop soon.  I don’t want to have to go back to the ER.

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Full of Shit

  1. Sorry you had to make a visit to the ER, but so thankful you were pleased with your treatment. I hope if you do have to make another visit you get the same staff people who were kind.

    • Thanks. Hopefully I’ll get good people again the next time. (The crazy thing about this disease is there’s always a “next time” for an ER trip.)

      • I admire you are dealing with so many medical issues as well as you do. I am a horrible chicken about such things.

      • It’s a learning curve. When you get diagnosed with a chronic illness, you don’t have a lot of choice about dealing with it, particularly if the illness is life-threatening.

  2. I can imagine the scale of pain involved – I’m glad the ER was useful to you, and I sincerely hope you feel a bit better soon x

  3. Hope, I can completely sympathize. The doctors are still trying to figure out what is wrong with my system, and I have been in and out of the ER several times lately. Sometimes they treat you well, sometimes you get shuffled to a back room and sit there for six hours. It really is hit or miss. I am glad you had some good care at your last appointment.

    • I’m sorry you’ve been through similar ER drama. It’s just so weird to me that the same ER wouldn’t have roughly the same quality of staff. I mean, there are always going to be individual variances, but for most companies/businesses, they tend to hire people of generally the same caliber. So it’s strange to me that ER’s don’t tend to follow that model.

      I hope you’re able to get some answers and some relief soon. I was fairly lucky in that when I got really sick the first time, it was very clear that I was very sick, so they couldn’t ignore me or tell me it was all in my head. And I got a diagnosis in only a few days. It must be frustrating and frightening not even understanding what’s going on with your body.

  4. Glad to hear you had a positive experience at the ER. I hope you feel better soon.

  5. OMG Hope, the pain must have been unbearable. So glad your ER experience was positive. The universe was looking out for you! 🙂 XX

    • Yeah, unfortunately now the morphine has worn off, and the pain is back. But hopefully I’ll be able to poop soon, and then I won’t still be in pain.

  6. happilydpressed

    Feel better ❤️

  7. Also thankful the ER was kind. We too, have the “allergy” list..which is never again give this to us..ever….we also have the sinus infection from hell going around. Sooo sorry to hear you also have this.
    Please feel better, thinking of you. Much love and peace xx

    • Oh, man, apparently we have too much in common! But it’s helpful to know I’m not the only one with a growing list of drugs I can’t take.

      I hope you feel better soon too!

Leave a Reply

