Storm

Today was the memorial service for a friend of mine who passed away suddenly last week.  We’d been in the same treatment program, and he was my upstairs neighbor for two years.  He would’ve liked the memorial service, I think–people who’d known and cared about him, sharing memories of him.

I didn’t speak at the service, but the memory that kept coming to me was a summer evening maybe three years ago.  A storm was blowing in, with these beautiful, dramatic, roiling clouds.  I was lying on the grass in the backyard, watching the sky.  He came out too.  Most people would’ve looked at me funny and asked what on earth I was doing out there when there was a big storm about to hit, but he understood without saying anything.  He lay down in the grass too.  First it was just these big, dark clouds, constantly shifting and changing.  Then the lightning started, far off.  We couldn’t see distinct lightning bolts, just bright flashes in the clouds, bright as day for a moment.  Then the rain started, sudden and heavy, but neither of us got up and went inside.  We let it soak us so we could watch the storm, feel the energy all around us.

We finally did go in, once the lightning started getting close.  But what I remember was lying there in the grass together, watching the storm, not having to explain to him why I was lying on the ground in a storm.

I don’t know why that’s the memory that sticks with me.  I don’t think there has to be a reason, really.  Just connection and energy.

I miss him.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Storm

  1. A few days ago you dreamed a dream in which you wrote “when I ran out of friends.” Today you went to a memorial service for a friend who recently died…I think some of your dream imagery of insecurity and such might have been rooted in this friend’s passing…And no wonder. What a terrible loss. At any time of life it is difficult to lose a friend, but he sounded special, and the memory you shared was lovely. I ache for you. Keep your memories and cherish them. People say “time heals wounds”? But all too often when it does so, it steals those memories with it…Take care and stay as well as you can.

  2. What beautiful memory you have of your friend. I hope it gives you peace in days to come. ((hugs!))

  3. Big hugs. Xx. I’m so sorry you lost him.

  4. Wow, what a beautiful memory Hope. It was a pleasure to read this, poignant and positive even with the sad loss of our friend.

  5. Sorry for your lost. Your post is a lovely tribute.

  6. So sorry for your loss Hope. Thinking of you and of your friend. Brave of you to lie out in a storm though! I’d be too nervous to do that! XXX

  7. Hi, thank you for stopping by recently.
    I enjoyed reading about your memory of your friend. Connection that deep is so rare, I’m sure that’s part of why you remember it so fondly. I’m sorry he is gone far too soon.

Leave a Reply

