Convention, Day 1

So apparently when I said I wouldn’t be around this weekend, I lied.  We left the party early, so I’m hanging out with my laptop in our hotel room.

The convention has been really awesome so far.  We hung out at the campaign’s vendor table for a while before things officially got rolling this afternoon, and I got a chance to talk to people from other campaigns in races I hadn’t decided on.  I’m still not totally sold on a lieutenant governor candidate (I’ve narrowed it down to two choices), and I’m really up in the air about which treasurer candidate I’ll vote for.  I got to talk briefly to one of the LG candidates I’m considering, and I liked him.  Our senate district is seated right by the entrance, so everyone has to walk past us to get in, so we get air time with the candidates much more than most of the other senate districts.  We got good seats because our Representative, Jim McGovern, is one of the major powers in the state party.

I did use my cane, and nobody was a jerk about it.  The questions I got about it were all from people who already knew me and had seen me without the cane, so they were asking out of concern.  Well, there was one woman I hadn’t met before today who asked, but she was asking because she has MS, so it didn’t feel intrusive.  People have actually been really kind–making sure I have a seat, asking if I need any help, stuff like that.  I’m glad people have been so accepting and kind because it was a rough day physically.  If I had to spend more than a minute or two on my feet, my legs started shaking really badly.

I’m a little worried about mobility issues tomorrow.  As a teller whip, I basically have to follow the party teller from my district around for several hours, so that I can see who checks in with the party in the morning and record their votes when we vote in the afternoon.  It’s going to be difficult if standing is as hard tomorrow as it was today.  The mobility issues are pretty new to me, so I haven’t learned the tips and tricks for workarounds and such.  But I’m sure I’ll figure out something.  And if I really need to sit down for a few minutes, I can have one of my whips stay with the teller until I can stand up again.  We can adapt.

Actually, the most frustrating thing for me with the cane is that I don’t have enough hands.  Ive got to be leaning on the cane, but I’m also supposed to be writing in my teller book, and most of the time I also have to have my phone in hand to record data and send soft numbers to the campaign staff.  We humans really need to get around to evolving more arms.  Octopi would be a good model.  I don’t want my arms to be slimy and covered in suckers, but eight arms sounds really good about now, you know?

Here, for your viewing pleasure, is a picture of me from the convention.

Image

This is before they handed out our T-shirts.  I didn’t know staff and whips were getting T-shirts today, so I wore a little black dress, which the T-shirt doesn’t go well with.  But I just shrugged and pulled the T-shirt on over the dress and cardigan.  It probably looked really goofy, but who cares?  Tomorrow we get different T-shirts, and I’ll be wearing mine with dress pants and a blazer.  I can pretend it’s a new fashion statement or something.  Whatevs.

I’d appreciate good thoughts/prayers/energy for me for tomorrow.  I just need to be able to stay on my feet.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Convention, Day 1

  1. Good positive thoughts coming your way. Xxxx.

  2. My memories of watching national conventions are that the delegates on the floor are always “goofy” in their attire. Adults playing H.S. Pep Assembly?

    • There were a couple at the state convention with strange hats or sequined American flag shirts, but they were few and far between. Campaign staff (and, at least on our campaign, interns and volunteer leads) dressed up a bit, but then they told us they wanted us to wear our T-shirts. Friday all the whips got light blue shirts, which was kind of confusing because two other campaigns were using the same exact shade of light blue. (Seriously, can’t your campaign T-shirt people get together about this so you don’t end up duplicating it? Then people think you work for their campaign when you really work for someone else.) Today, my RFD told me that whips were supposed to wear our dark blue T-shirts, and then when I get to the convention center, someone else tells me whips are supposed to be wearing light blue shirts and committed delegates were supposed to be wearing dark blue shirts. At that point I just shrugged because it’s not like I could go all the way back to our hotel to change shirts.

      There was a lot of yelling and clapping and cheering, though there were no pom-poms involved. At least a couple people had cowbells, and let me tell you, political conventions don’t gotta have more cowbell.

      • Thanks for the entertaining run down.
        I guess all democrats want to use blue but as you said there are multi shades. Maybe it was a plot by the weakest candidate to mess everyone up 🙂

      • Well, only two of them were for the same office–two gubernatorial candidates, and the other one was a lieutenant governor candidate. There were a range of shirt colors, actually. We had the light blue for day 1 and royal blue for day 2. Opponent 1 had a bright orange that I found kind of an eyesore–they were even handing out orange washcloths with his campaign slogan, which seemed like a really strange thing to give out. Opponent 2 had navy blue shirts. Opponent 3 had the same light blue on day 1 but red on day 2. Opponent 4 didn’t have t-shirts, probably because he only raised about $700 last month. In the AG’s race, the T-shirts were green for my candidate and grey for the opponent. I can’t remember what colors all the other candidates used.

        But yeah, it was kind of amusing when someone from our opponent’s campaign or the Lt. Gov candidate’s campaign would flag us down, start talking to us, and then realize we weren’t from their campaign after all. It did slow things down a bit, though, because the point of t-shirts is so you can easily recognize your people, but that didn’t work out so well.

  3. Great photo!! I love your smile. 🙂

    Sorry to hear the mobility crap is getting in your way but you sound so level headed and like you’re coping extremely well. You are taking breaks when you need them and aren’t pushing yourself beyond your limits. I’m really glad people are giving you so much respect when they see your cane. Makes me feel better about humanity, that.

    Hope things aren’t too hectic tomorrow and your body plays fair.

    Much love xoxo

    • Yeah, I only got one person the whole time, out of 6000+ people, say anything rude. I was sitting on the end of a row of seats, and the end of the cane was poking out into the aisle a little because space was tight and there was nowhere to put it. There was plenty of room to get around it in the aisle, but she felt the need to complain to me about it. Gee, I’m so very sorry that my mobility assistance device makes your unimpaired walking so much more difficult by requiring you to step three inches to the side.

      But most people were really nice. One guy in particular from my campaign would check with me when he came by to see if I needed anything. I think he might have been flirting a little, but my radar for that is pretty much nonexistent.

      Today didn’t go exactly according to my plans, but it worked out fine.

      • I can’t believe the gall of people sometimes. I just watched an impatient heard of student nurses shove their way past a little old woman with her walker so they could get their coffee first. Sigh. Nurses. They were eye rolling like crazy too. (Sometimes I think you should have to pass a security scan to prove you give a shit about people before working in health care. Or the education system. Or the mental health one.

        Xx

  4. I’d appreciate good thoughts/prayers/energy for me for tomorrow. I just need to be able to stay on my feet.
    Done

Leave a Reply

