It’s my UCversary

Today I passed out in my GP’s office.  I’d been up all night pooping and threw up a couple times this morning, so I was pretty dehydrated.  I think I freaked my doctor out a little.

I was just there to get refills on my asthma meds–that’s been under control ever since I switched to a doctor who would actually treat my asthma instead  of telling me it was just anxiety.  Funny how that works, huh?  He asked how everything else was going, and I told him the UC had flared up since my gastroenterologist tried to take me off steroids.  I told him the patient depression questionnaire they use was skewed against people with UC.  Trouble falling or staying asleep?  UC.  Feeling tired or lacking energy?  UC.  Poor appetite and weight loss?  UC, dammit.

He refilled the prescriptions for my inhalers, listened to my chest and belly.  My heart rate was high, but my heart rate is always high.  I’ve never gotten a good explanation of why that is–I’m routinely in the 90’s resting.  It gets even worse if they do orthostatics–I’ll shoot up to 130 or 140 then, even if my blood pressure doesn’t drop.  He said he’d want to keep an eye on my pulses, but he declared me, you know, more or less okay and told me to schedule a follow-up in 6 months.  So I got up to go, and then…not so much with the get up and go.

So I got another fun ER trip.  This time I didn’t bother asking for pain meds, so at least I didn’t get lectured about how I shouldn’t use the ER for pain management.  I just got two bags of IV fluids this time.  I actually had a really nice nurse today, and she felt bad there wasn’t more they could do for me.  She commiserated with me about how much it sucks when you’re wicked sick but can’t get an appointment with your gastroenterologist until June.  When I told her the doctor asked if I’d tried Immodium, she shook her head in disbelief.  Then she asked me how long ago I was diagnosed with UC, and I realized it was exactly a year ago today.

So for my UCversary, I got another ER trip.  I think it’s my third this year, not counting the one that led to the admission where I was diagnosed.  It could be the fourth.  I can’t even keep track anymore.  I’m on a first-name basis with the staff at my gastroenterologist’s office and the pharmacists at my local CVS.  I’ve learned about how to get poop stains out of mattresses and act like I didn’t just crap my pants at work.  I’ve learned what ten foods I can buy at the grocery store that won’t make me sicker.  I’ve made an unbelievable number of bad poop puns.  But I’m still here, alive and kicking.  I guess that’s something.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “It’s my UCversary

  1. Thanks so much for visiting my site and choosing to follow along. It does suck to be sick all the time. We have to be our own best advocates. That sucks, too.

  2. Sounds real hard 😦 I’m so sorry. I’m glad you had a friendly nurse this time! Wish I could do something to help you. you’re in my thoughts

  3. You seem to be putting the best spin possible on — OK, I can not resist — crappy situation.

    I have never fainted but if I did I would prefer in happen in a medical setting.

  4. Mandy

    I’m so sorry. I’m just thankful you’re making those bad poop puns. As long as you can keep doing that I know you’ll keep hanging in there till this gets better! ((Hugs my dear Hope!))

  5. kat

    yep, its something….hang onto that if you can.

  6. Wow, I’ve had fecal incontinence, so I know what that ‘s like, but I think it was never like yours…I feel so bad for you, and glad you can write about it. It shows you can put it aside for a while. You do have grit, you really do, Not that that makes the stained mattress go away, but it is something. What a nasty business, UC. I wish NO ONE had it. You have a lot of courage to deal with UC with the humor and the good humor and objectivity that you try to show, at least on the page. I am sure it is not always so when “we” are not listening. But isn’t that always the case?

    I hope you have a better night and a better day tomorrow, Hope, I really do.

    Pam

    • Oh, there are certainly moments when I burst into tears and go to bed simply because I cannot deal with reality for another minute. But those days don’t happen as often as I would’ve expected. Most days I’m pretty okay with it–I mean, as much as you really can be. The humor really is my coping method. I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t make fun of my illness.

  7. Bourbon

    I really feel for you with all you have to go through 😦 xx

  8. Interesting how full of poop jokes your life becomes with UC. Sometimes the sense of humor is the only thing that gets you through!

Leave a Reply

