Yay Politics!

This evening, I went to a meet-and-greet with one of our gubernatorial candidates.  (I swear, this post is more than just an excuse to say “gubernatorial,” but you have to admit, it’s a fun word.)  It’s a candidate I really like, and it looks like I might do some work on her campaign.

They’re trying to recruit me as a delegate for the state nominating convention, and I said I might do it.  It’s a thing I would be able to do despite the UC, which is cool, and the event was described to me as a Star Trek convention for political nerds.  I like sci-fi cons (to which I’ve gone in costume, more than once), and I’m definitely a political nerd, so it sounds right up my alley.

I’ve got to talk to the local field organizer about exactly what’s involved.  I know I have to go to my town’s caucus and get elected as a delegate, but I don’t know what’s required beyond that.  I know my town elects delegates by ward and possibly even by sub-ward, and I’m guessing it’s fairly competitive in my area because there are a lot of politically involved people.  I’m not sure what my chances of getting elected would be, but I figure what the hell.  It’s not like I’ve really got anything to lose by trying, and if I don’t get elected, I can still go to the convention as a volunteer.

I’m pretty excited that there’s something major that I can do in spite of my new physical limitations.  Over the last few years, I’ve found that political work really increases my self-esteem.  I feel smart and capable and valuable, and I feel like I’m doing something that matters.  It’s a hell of a lot better than sitting on my couch.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Yay Politics!

  1. barbaramarincel

    I used to work in politics. It’s great experience and can (if you are working for something/someone you truly believe in) be amazing, because you feel like a part of something bigger than yourself, AND you know you are making a difference. The world needs people like you now more than ever. Rock on!

    • Yeah, I think the thrill of working in politics is something only political nerds can understand. My non-political nerd friends just look at me funny when I start going on about it. But with other political nerds, I don’t even have to explain–we just laugh because we all get it.

  2. Kenzie - Motorcycles, Books & Fructose

    This sounds like a great opportunity for you! I hope it all works out 🙂

  3. Hi Hope,

    I traced you back here when you liked one of my posts. We have a lot in common. Democrats, politically active and UC. Actually, I had UC for 10 years until they did surgery and decided it was Crohn’s. C’est la vie.

    I enjoyed reading the posts I saw and look forward to more.

Leave a Reply

